Differences between medical cannabis and adult-use cannabis in Arizona

Age Limit There is no age limit. However, there are different card types depending on your age. Adults 21 years of age or older See A.R.S. §§ 36-2850; 36-2851 Purchase Limits The amount purchased cannot cause the registered qualifying patient to exceed the limit of obtaining no more than two-and-one-half ounces of marijuana in a fourteen (14) day period. A.R.S. § 36-2852 subsection (A)(1) states “… one ounce or less of marijuana, except that not more than five grams of marijuana may be in the form of marijuana concentrate.” Possession A qualified patient is only able to possess the “allowable amount of marijuana”. Regarding the amount of adult use marijuana a person is able to possess, A.R.S. § 36-2853(A) states:

A. Notwithstanding any other law and except as otherwise provided in [A.R.S. Title 36, Chapter 28.2], a person who possesses an amount of marijuana greater than [one ounce or less of marijuana, except that not more than five grams of marijuana may be in the form of marijuana concentrate], but not more than two and one-half ounces of marijuana, of which not more than twelve and one-half grams is in the form of marijuana concentrate, is guilty of a petty offense.

Public Use Not allowed [A.R.S. § 36-2802(B), (C)] Not allowed See A.R.S. § 36-2851 Driving Not allowed [A.R.S. § 36-2802(D)] Not allowed See A.R.S. § 36-2851 Buying and Selling Qualifying patients or their caregivers purchase medical marijuana from a nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary. Medical marijuana can only be sold by a licensed nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary. Adults 21 years of age or older may purchase adult use marijuana from a licensed marijuana establishment. Only licensed marijuana establishments may sell adult use marijuana. See A.R.S. §§ 36-2850, 36-2851 Cultivation Under specific guidelines, cultivaton may be allowed. Under specific guidelines, cultivaton is allowed for adults 21 years of age or older. See A.R.S. § 36-2852 Taxes No excise tax A 16% excise tax has been placed on adult use marijuana products per A.R.S. § 42-5452(A). Employment An employee has some protections from discrimination as a registered qualified patient. An employer retains the right to maintain a drug-and-alcohol-free workplace. See A.R.S. § 36-2851 Delivery Delivery of medical marijuana is included in the definition of medical use. Delivery of adult use marijuana is allowed once the Department adopts rules permitting and regulating delivery. See A.R.S. §§ 36-2850, 36-2854

Differences between medical cannabis and adult-use cannabis in Arizona

Age Limit There is no age limit. However, there are different card types depending on your age. Adults 21 years of age or older See A.R.S. §§ 36-2850; 36-2851 Purchase Limits The amount purchased cannot cause the registered qualifying patient to exceed the limit of obtaining no more than two-and-one-half ounces of marijuana in a fourteen (14) day period. A.R.S. § 36-2852 subsection (A)(1) states “… one ounce or less of marijuana, except that not more than five grams of marijuana may be in the form of marijuana concentrate.” Possession A qualified patient is only able to possess the “allowable amount of marijuana”. Regarding the amount of adult use marijuana a person is able to possess, A.R.S. § 36-2853(A) states:

A. Notwithstanding any other law and except as otherwise provided in [A.R.S. Title 36, Chapter 28.2], a person who possesses an amount of marijuana greater than [one ounce or less of marijuana, except that not more than five grams of marijuana may be in the form of marijuana concentrate], but not more than two and one-half ounces of marijuana, of which not more than twelve and one-half grams is in the form of marijuana concentrate, is guilty of a petty offense.

Public Use Not allowed [A.R.S. § 36-2802(B), (C)] Not allowed See A.R.S. § 36-2851 Driving Not allowed [A.R.S. § 36-2802(D)] Not allowed See A.R.S. § 36-2851 Buying and Selling Qualifying patients or their caregivers purchase medical marijuana from a nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary. Medical marijuana can only be sold by a licensed nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary. Adults 21 years of age or older may purchase adult use marijuana from a licensed marijuana establishment. Only licensed marijuana establishments may sell adult use marijuana. See A.R.S. §§ 36-2850, 36-2851 Cultivation Under specific guidelines, cultivaton may be allowed. Under specific guidelines, cultivaton is allowed for adults 21 years of age or older. See A.R.S. § 36-2852 Taxes No excise tax A 16% excise tax has been placed on adult use marijuana products per A.R.S. § 42-5452(A). Employment An employee has some protections from discrimination as a registered qualified patient. An employer retains the right to maintain a drug-and-alcohol-free workplace. See A.R.S. § 36-2851 Delivery Delivery of medical marijuana is included in the definition of medical use. Delivery of adult use marijuana is allowed once the Department adopts rules permitting and regulating delivery. See A.R.S. §§ 36-2850, 36-2854

Latest posts